Wednesday, April 11, 2007
Tove's Walking Tour of Kristianstad (Sweden)
1. The former bank - Hotel C4 (V Boulevarden 15)
The hotel First Hotel Christian IV, or Hotel C4 for short, is located in the "old savings bank" voted Kristianstad's most beautiful building during the Year of Architecture in 2001. Today you find the wine cellar in the former bank vault. The building dating from 1901, was built by “Sparbanken i Christianstad” (The savings bank in Christianstad) in German renascence and the architect O. Hägg from the firm Lindvall & Boklund in Malmö designed it. Originally the building housed the post office, the savings bank, and apartments. The post office moved out in 1917 and the bank in 1970. After the savings bank moved out, the building was used as a tourist office for a while before it was turned in to a hotel in 1986.
2. Heliga trefaldighets kyrkan (The Holy Trinity Church)
The Holy Trinity Church, designed by the Dutch Hans van Steenwinckel and built byChristian between 1617 and 1628, displays the royal monogram in many places. The 59 meter high tower was added in 1865. The benches in the church are as old as the church and all have their own woodcarvings. King Christian IV ordered the original organ of the church in 1619. Built by the German Johan Lorentz, the organ stood ready in 1631. Even though the organ has been rebuilt many times since then, the façade is still the original, and the original façade pipes are still in use.
3. The Railway Station
Kristianstad railway station, designed by Claes Adelsköld, was built in 1865. The Station building was extended with the main hall, designed by Per lenart Håkanson to the north in
4. Hotell Hertigen (Hotel The Duke) / The old school
Christian IV decided that there should be a school north of the Church. A school building was moved there from Åhus and was in use by the beginning of 1617. The building was also used as temporary church before completion of the proper one. In 1686, the old school house was exchanged for a new one.
In 1835 it was time for a new and larger school building, and the school was now named “Hertig Carls Skola” (“Duke Carl’s School”). The same year the school headmaster, Per Johan Böklin, added classes for younger children to the school. Earlier the school was mainly for older children and the subjects was Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and religion. Shortly thereafter, the headmaster opened the school for the apprentices in the town to learn how to read and write on Saturdays and in evenings (probably for the first time in Sweden). In 1875 the school was moved to a new larger building in the southern parts of town. The school building was transformed into a hotel and tavern between 1877 and 1878, and today
the hotel is called “Hotell Hertigen” (“Hotel the Duke”).
5. Thalia Tempel (Thalia Temple)
In the fall of 1833, a new theater opened in a building designed by Fredrik Blom, and the theater was open until 1903. After that the building has housed a dairy, a bakery, an architect firm, and apartments.
6. Vattentornet (The water tower)
Historically the quality of the drinking water in Kristianastad has been at best questionable since the water was taken from the surrounding swamp, the moat, and Helgeå (Helge river) that also was used as outlet for the sewage system. This changed in 1939 when the first deep well was drilled, and since then the water has been taken from the ground water. The water tower that you see today is designed by Kjessler & Mannerstråle AB and has an indoor deck at the top where you can look out over Kristianstad and its surroundings. It was taken into use in 1965.
7. North Town Gate (Norreport)
Carl Hårleman's original design for the northern entrance through the battlements was massive and thirteen meters in depth. The gate was taken down in 1900 and rebuilt on its
8. Norra Kassern (The North Barracks)
Norra Kassern (The North Barrack) was built between 1755 and 1767 as a barrack for the town guard, but was later taken over by Kungliga Wendes artilleriregementet (The Royal Wendes Artillery Regiment). The building was a military barrack until 1946, and today the regional museum uses it for storage, preservation, and restoration of its collections.
In 1801, a guardhouse, called Fyrkappan, was built close to the north barrack for the guards of the north gate. The building was taken over by the city in 1967 and has been used as an office for the regional museum since 1978. Gula förådet (The Yellow Storage Building) is a yellow half-timbered storage building built for the field artillery around 1860. Taken over by the city in 1967, it is today used for adult education. Winter stables and a brick riding-house were built in 1897. The riding house has been used for storage by the regional museum since the 1970s, while the winter stables have been used for education since 1963.
9. The old Salvation Army Citadel
In this building from the 1760s, conspirators once plotted the only attempted political revolution in Swedish history. Johan Chritsopher Toll and a battalion from Prince Fredrik Adolf Regiment pledged themselves to the coup d'état against King Gustav III planned for 12 August 1772. However, nothing came of their plans. The name of the building comes from that the Salvation Army bought it in 1911 and owned and used it until 1999.
10. The Prytz Tenement
Built by the military engineer Hans Prytz in 1641, this is one of Kristianstads oldest preserved
tenements. The reverently restored house contains a mural from the 17th century. A copy of the mural is kept in the Regional museum.
11. The Fortification Brigade Building
Built in 1630s as a cobbler's shop, but the inscription is from the mid 1700s when the building had become a tavern and translates "Moderate pleasure, drink in measure, here enjoy at your own leisure". At the end of the 18th century, the building was the residence of the commanding officer of the Skåne fortification brigade and it was the Court of Appeal between 1821 and 1840. Today it houses administrative offices.
12. The Town Hall – Rådhuset
Built in 1891, at the main square “Stora Torg” (“The Large Square”) on the site of an older town hall in emulation of Christian IV's Renaissance style. The inscription in Latin on the façade - PAX VOBIS ("Peace be with you") - was the king's greeting to the people of Kristianstad. In a niche, one can see a bronze statue by Bertel Thorvaldsen of Christian IV. In the foreground of the picture (just behind the middle car) you can see the Ikaros fountain.
This was where TNT became husband and wife on November 30, 2005.
Built in late classicism Empire style, 1840-41, this building was shared by the Court of Appeal and Wendes Artillery Regiment, hence the inscription LEGIBUS ET ARMIS ("With Laws and Arms"). Since the court moved to Malmö in 1917, the building has been used exclusively for military purposes.
14. Krisitanstadsbladet (The local newspaper)
The local newspaper is called “Kristianstadsbladet” and it celebrated its 150th birthday in September 2006. The main office of the newspaper can be found in the corner of Nya Boulevarden and Västra Vallgatan
15. Frimurarhuset (Freemansons' House)
Another Renaissance style building is the building of the current Masonic lodge inaugurated by King Oscar II of Sweden in 1884. The first Masonic lodge in Kristianstad was founded in 1776. Today the building also houses a hotel, restaurant, and bar: Stadshotellet (The City Hotel).
16. The old post office and The Riksbank
The right building was built in 1915 to house Sveriges Riksbank. In that spot today, you will find a restaurant and bar called Banken (“The bank”). The left building was built to contain the town’s main post office and stood ready in 1917. Since 2001 the building is part of the regional museum and house a center for contemporary art. The architect Erik Lallerstedt, Stockholm, designed both buildings.
17. The Regional Museum
This building was built as the stables of Christian IV's palace in the 17th century, but the rest of the palace was never built, and after a decade or so the building was converted into an arsenal. It got its present appearance in the 1780's and became a museum in 1959. Today you can among other things find the history of Kristianstad, a section of military history, and a textile collection in the museum. Opening hours for the regional museum and center for contemporary art: Tuesday – Sunday 12-17. Admission: free
18. Borgmästatgården (The Mayor's Residence)
Mayor Jörgen Hansen built this building when Kristianstad was founded. The date 1640 on the façade records the time of the addition of the second floor. Its current appearance dates from the nineteenth century. General George Carl von Döbeln lived in the building 1811 - 12 while organizing the Northern Skåne infantry regiment, of which he was the first commanding officer.
19. Norretullskolan (“North Customs School”)
In 1863, it was decided to build “Norra Folkskolan” (“The North People School” ≈ The North Basic School). The first two-floor building of the school, designed by Måns Holmgren, was ready in 1867. In 1872, a third floor was added. In 1902 a smaller building, designed by August W. Lindvall, was added next to “Norra Folkskolan” to house “J H Dahls flickskola” (J H Dahl’s girls school).
In 1942 the two schools became one with the name Praktiska Realskolan (≈ The Practical Middle School). In 1963 a new one-story building was added to the school. South of the “Norra Folkskolan” the military built a barrack, desigened by Erik Josephson, in 1900. The barrack was taken over by the municipal in 1958. After that you could find the company Johansson Textil in the building, before it was turned in to a school building. In 1969, Sweden implemented a new school system with a 9-year compulsory school before Gymnasiet (≈ High School). At this time “Norretullskolan” (“North Customs School”) became a “högstadeskola” (grade 7 to 9) and today you will find grade 6 to 9 here. In 1970, the school received a modern sports hall on the former spot of the North City gate.
20. Bastionen Konungen (The Bastion “The King”)
The Bastion “The King” has been recreated on the location it occupied between the seventeenth and nineteenth centuries.
21. Österbergska gården (The House of Österberg)
Österbergska gården (The House of Österberg) was built between 1800 and 1840, by Lars Österberg and stayed in his family 1947. Today the buildings contain apartments.
22. Söderport (South gate)
The South gate of the old fortress was moved to its current position behind the regional museum in 1916.
23. Vähusen (The Vä Houses)
Some of the oldest and most interesting examples of Kristianstad's architectural heritage are the so-called Vähusen (The Vä Houses) on Östra Vallgatan, dating from the 1760s and renovated in 1980-81.
24. Hennes & Mauritz huset (The H&M House)
In the 17th and 18th century, you could find the inn in Kriaitianstad here, but today it is the H&M store in Kristianstad. If you enter the store you will find an 18th century (or possibly 17th century) facade inside the store. This is the old facade that used to face the yard that all buildings in Kristianstad used to have, and some still do. Since they are not allowed to remove the facade they had to build around it, but after a remodeling of the store in the 1990s it became part of the store decoration.
25. The Film Museum
The Swedish film industry was born in Kristianstad. The museum is housed in the oldest film studio (1909-11) still standing in Sweden. There was also a small cinema here, the "Cosmorama". In, 2000 this was resurrected as the Kosmorama, with 4 screens for around 400 guests in a new location on Östra Boulevarden. The old film studio and the museum can be found on Östra Storgatan 53. In the museum today you will find a stage setting from 1910, costumes, props and a small movie theater that shows old films from the museum collection.
Opening hours: Sunday 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.
26. Kungshuset (The King's House)
The house at Västra Storgatan 39 was built in the 17th century. King Karl XII (1682-1718) of Sweden stayed in the house once, but the house got its name from another king, the exiled Polish King, Stanislaus Leszczynski. Stanislaus Leszczynski, and his retinue lived here between 1711 and 1714. His daughter Maria later became the queen of France. Today it houses a shopping center.
27. Lilla Torg (“The Small Square”)
Lilla Torg (“The Small Square”), earlier called Hästtorget (“The Horse Square”), was in the beginning of Krisitanstad a marketplace. Today, it is the center of the shopping area, where you will find open stands on the square with fruits, vegetables, and flowers all year. The small bell tower in the middle of the square is from the 1992 and is designed by Sune Friström and Ingemar Hertzman
28. Garvaregården (”The tanning farm”)
Garvaregården (”The tanning farm”) is a half-timbered house from the 17th century that used to be a tanning workshop. Today the building houses a restaurant.
29. Södra Kasern (South Barracks)
Södra Kasern Etablissemanget was used by Wendes artilleriregemente (Wendes Artillery Regiment) and the first barrack, Södra Kassern (The South Barrack) later called Gamla Södra Kassern (The Old South Barrack), was ready in 1793. In 1847, a second floor was added to the original one-story building. When the military moved out of the building in 1947, it was remodeled as an office building. Today you find a restaurant and a gallery in the basement. Between 1855 and 1865 summer stables where built in southwest and southeast of the military ground, both summer stables are gone except for the outer wall of the east stables that now serves as a wall towards the street. A plastered, half-timbered storage building, Blomska Förrådet (The Blomska Storage Building) was built between the two summer stables, and stood ready in 1871. Today you find offices of Länstyrelsen (the county board) and the Red Cross in the building. A riding house was built along the south east side of the area in 1876. The riding house was turned in to a sports hall in 1947 and became the dining hall of Söderportskolan (The South Gate School) next door in 1994. In 1897, a new three-storey barrack, Nya Södra Kasern (New South Barrack), was build a bit to the east of the Old South Barrack. After the military left the building, it has been used by the university and adult education.
30. Söderportskolan (South Gate School)
In 1871, it was decided to build a new larger school on the place where the south gate had stood and the new school opened in 1875. The original building drawn by the architect J.A. Haverman had two floors with three floors in the middle and a clock tower on the top. A wing was added in 1901, a third floor in 1915, and in the 1930s it was extend both to the east and west. The assembly hall next to V. Bolevarden was built after a large fire in 1959. In 1968, the school received its current name “Söderportskolan” (“The south gate school”) or “Söderportgymnasiet” (“The South Gate High School”) when the new gymnasiskola (≈ High
School) was created in Sweden. The same year the natural science and technical program was moved to a newly built school, Österängskolan (“The East Field School”) or Östrängsgymnasiet (“The East Field High School”) a bit outside the central part of Kristianstad. Today Kristianstad has two additional High Schools, “Wendesskolan” (“Wende’s School”) and the culture High School “Christian IV’s Skola” (“Christian IV’s School”). However, “Söderportskolan” (“The south gate school”) and Österängskolan (“The East Field School”) are still the largest schools, and it is tradition for the two schools to make pranks on each other.
Tove went to Österängskolan (“The East Field School”), since that’s where you still find the
Natural Science program.
31. Skottenborg House
As old as Kristianstad, this little house was where the secretary of the Danish Royal Buildings
Works, Jens Rasmussen, had his office. Over the course of time, the little house has been used as a place to live, an office, a guardhouse, and a restaurant. Skottenborg is named after a mayor in the 1640s (Thomas Anders Skotte), and the house acquired its present appearance in the 1770s. Owned by the municipality, it today serves as the residence of the museum director.
32. Grönros Silversmiths
The silver smithy in Kristianstad is the oldest in Sweden and dates back to the 1680's. It was moved to its present location on the banks of the canal in 1915. The smithy has punches still in use from the 17th century, and you won’t find an equivalent collection of punches anywhere else in Europe. The current silver smith is Ingmar Grönros.
33. Länsresidenset (“The governor residence”)
Kristianstad became a residence town (home of the county’s governor) in 1719. When the county of Kristianstad joined with the county of Malmö on January 1, 1997 it stopped being a residence town, but it is still the home of the county board. During its time as a residence town, Kristianstad had 25 governors. The first lived at “Stora Torg” (The Large Square) and later at “Lilla Torg” (The Small Square). The last residence stood ready on December 28, 1860, and was designed in Italian renaissance by Fredrik Willhelm Scholander.The building contained the governor’s residence on the second floor and offices on the first.
34. The Old Town Hall
A building in Renaissance-inspired 19th century architecture that for many years served as the most prestigious rendezvous for Kristianstad's high society. The impressive staircase under the gigantic crystal chandelier leads up to assembly rooms for 500 people.
35. Tivioliparken (The Tivoli Park)
The Tivoli Park, that got its name from Tivoli in Copenhagen, was once an area used to drill the soldiers. During the mid 19th century the field slowly turned in to a public park. The park was taken over by the town in 1901 and is today a green oasis close to the town center.
36. The Tivoli Park Theater
Designed by architect Axel Anderberg from Kristianstad, who also designed Stockholm Opera House and the Oscar Theater, the theater was built in art nouveau style in 1906 to replace the old Thalia Temple that had stood in the northern part of town from 1833.
37. Fornstugan (The History House) in the Tivoli Park
One of the oldest museum buildings in Sweden built in 1886, in the idealized Viking style of Sweden's "National Romantic" movement. It was a museum between 1886 and 1913. Today it houses a summer café from May to September.
38. Badhuset (The Public Bath)
The Public Bath in Krisitianstad can be found on top what used to be a harbor. In 1953, the
project to transform the harbor into land started, and the public bath was opened in the fall of
1957. The building designed by architect SAR Robert Larsson, Kristianstad contained a 25 meter pool with six lanes and diving boards of one, there, and, five meters in height. In 1994 the public pool house was remodeled and a new 25-meter pool with eight lanes, a Jacuzzi and a smaller warm water pool was added. The public bath now got the name “Tivoli Badet” (“The Tivoli Bath”) and a new sign was put up in addition to the old one. The new pool is used for swimming while the old is used for play. The 5-meter diving board was removed during the remodeling but a small water slide and a “climbing wall” that can be lowered in to the pool was added. In 2006, a building with a gym was added to the public bath.
This was for many years the second home of our family, since both Tove and her brother Erik
39. Kulturhuset Barbacka (The Culture Center Barbacka)
The culture center started in the beginning of the 1990s, and mainly provides cultural activities for youth and children.
40. Kvarnen (The Mill)
Although today it is an office building with a restaurant on the ground floor, the Kvarnen (“The Mill”) kept its historical name, since it used to be a roller mill that closed in 1991. The first part of the building was built in 1893, and the building got its current appearance in 1949.
41. Kristianstads Vattenrike (the rich wetlands of Kristianstad)
Kristianstads Vattenrike (the rich wetlands of Kristianstad, or directly translated “Kristianstad’s Water Kingdom”) is the name of the wetlands around Kristianstad, rich in plant and animal life. The area has been accorded the status of a so-called “Ramsar Convention site” as an area of international significance, worthy of conservation by UNESCO and is the nesting ground for several endangered birds. The area also contains the largest reserves of groundwater in northern Europe. Kristianstads Vattenrike is an out door eco-museum with 13 information stations at different positions in the area, each dealing with different aspects of the general theme of water.
42. The Linnérundan trail
The Linnérundan trail that starts by the Canal House, one of the 13 information stations in Kristianstads Vattenrike and an Outdoor Museum, north of the public bath. The trail that leads to Lillö Castle is a part of a system of paths that links urban Kristianstad with the wetlands. It takes name from the famous botanist Carls von Linné who visited the wetlands surrounding the city on his journey in 1749.
Lillö Castle, from the 14th century, was built on the edge of the marshy wetlands. It was during a visit to the castle that Christian IV decided where to build his new city, Christianstad. The castle was mostly blown to pieces during the seventeenth century, but following excavations in the 1940s, the ruins are now there for all to see. You can borrow the key to the castle from the tourist information (phone: +46-44-135335)
This mound, which you pass when you walk the Linnérundan trail, is known as Härlöv Castle. In the Middle Ages, this was the site of a wooden stockade and later, during the “Scanian War” with Denmark (1675–1679), a redoubt was built on top of the old castle.
43. Kristianstad Centrum Prison
The prison “Kristianstad Centrum” was the first building to be built outside the fortifications, in 1846. The prison is one of the oldest still in use in Sweden.
44. Konserthuset (”The Concert House”)
Konserthuset (”The Concert House”) in Kristianstad opened in 1936 and contains two Concert halls. The building was designed by P L Håkansson.
45. Gamla sjukhus området (The old hospital area)
Kristianstad’s first hospital had two beds and opened in 1776. A new hospital with 70 beds was built between 1807 and 1833. The hospital was extended to 188 beds in 1909, and to 350 beds in 1930. The hospital area was turned in to apartments after the construction of a new modern hospital further away from the center in 1973. The new hospital is by far the largest building in Kristianstad today.
46. Resecentrum (The travel center)
This is the central bus station. Some busses but not all also stop by the Train station. In the travel center you’ll also find an information desk for the public busses. City busses are green, while countryside busses and “Skåne Express” busses are yellow.
Kristianstad Högskola (Kristianstad University)
Is a small university established in 1977, but the teaching college is from 1835. The University
moved to its current location in Näsby outside the central part of Kristianstad in 1995. In 1998, the nursing college, started in 1893, joined the university. The university today has 6 departments and about 11 000 students, half of which are full time students.